

# The Federation of Canadian Music Festivals La Fédération canadienne des festivals de musique

Executive Director / directrice générale: Barbara Long President / président: Joy McFarlane-Burton

11119 Route 130, Somerville, N.B. E7P 2S4 506.375.6752 866.245.1680 info@fcmf.org www.fcmf.org

**Federation of Canadian Music Festivals** 

#### PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

#### 2017 NATIONAL MUSIC FESTIVAL – CANADA'S BEST YOUNG MUSICIANS ANNOUNCED

Ottawa, Ontario – August 12, 2017 – Canada's prestigious 2017 National Music Festival winners are announced! From August 8<sup>th</sup> -12<sup>th</sup>, sixty-two (62) of Canada's best young amateur musicians from across the country, ranging in age from 14-27, were hosted in beautiful Ottawa, Ontario to compete and represent their province in eight [8] disciplines: piano, strings, voice, woodwinds, brass, classical guitar, chamber groups, and musical theatre. Competitions and master classes took place on the University of Ottawa campus.

The first place winners of each discipline competed for the Festival's Grand Award title and prize of \$5,000 on Saturday, August 12<sup>th</sup>, in Tabaret Hall, University of Ottawa. And the winner is...

### NRS Foundation – Victoria Foundation GRAND AWARD WINNER for \$5,000:

Performance Opportunity with the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra PR Consultation with Liz Parker of *LizPR* 

Naomi Ford, flautist from Moncton, New Brunswick

## 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Grand Award in honour of Norma Jean Atkinson for \$2500.00: Phillip Cho, pianist, from Côte Saint-Luc, Québec

First Place – \$1,500 Prize	Second Place – \$1,000 Prize	Third Place – \$500 Prize
Voice: Laura D'Angelo [ON]	Voice: Ryan Hofman [BC]	Voice: Madison Craig [AB]
Piano: Phillip Cho [QC]	Piano: Chris Chu [BC]	Piano: Catherine He [ON]
Strings: Gregory Lewis [MB]	Strings: Vivian Kukiel [ON]	Strings: Joanne Peng [SK]
Guitar: Nolan Powell [MB]	Guitar: Alejandro Vega [ON]	Guitar: Josh Hu [BC]
Woodwinds: Naomi Ford [NB]	Woodwinds: Cole Knutson [SK]	Woodwinds: Danielle Yao [AB]
Brass: Kayla Solomon [MB]	Brass: Robert Conquer [ON]	Brass: Mimisu Lee [NS]
Chamber: Azura Quartet [BC] Chinley Hinacay, Mo Miao, Haley Heinricks, Mia Gazley	Chamber: YIP Trio [AB] Yan Li, Ine-Wilmé Coetzee, Peter Yang	Chamber: Conesso Piano Quartet [ON] Samantha Zarry, Maya Joy Linstrom- Parkins, Jake Lee, Kyoko Kohno
Musical Theatre: Chloe Weir [ON]	Musical Theatre: Hunter Semrau [AB]	Musical Theatre: Bethany Caldwell [BC]

For more information, please contact

Barbara Long, FCMF Executive Director info@fcmf.org | 866.245.1680