

The Federation of Canadian Music Festivals La Fédération canadienne des festivals de musique

Executive Director / directrice générale: Barbara Long President / présidente: Joy McFarlane-Burton

11119 Route 130, Somerville, N.B. E7P 2S4 506.375.6752 866.245.1680 info@fcmf.org www.fcmf.org

Federation of Canadian Music Festivals **PRESS RELEASE** For Immediate Release

2018 NATIONAL MUSIC FESTIVAL – CANADA'S BEST YOUNG MUSICIANS ANNOUNCED

Sackville, New Brunswick – August 16, 2018 – Canada's prestigious 2018 National Music Festival winners are announced! From August 12th -16th, seventy-one (71) of Canada's best young amateur musicians from across the country, ranging in age from 12-27, were hosted in beautiful Sackville, New Brunswick to compete and represent their province in eight [8] disciplines: piano, strings, voice, woodwinds, brass, classical guitar, chamber ensembles, and musical theatre. Competitions and master classes took place on the Mount Allison University campus.

The first place winners of each discipline competed for the Festival's Grand Award title and prize of \$5,000 on Thursday, August 16th, in Brunton Auditorium, Mount Allison University. And the winner is...

<u>NRS Foundation – Victoria Foundation GRAND AWARD WINNER for \$5,000:</u> Performance Opportunity with the New Brunswick Youth Orchestra David Liam Roberts, cellist from Winnipeg, Manitoba

2nd Place Grand Award in honour of Pam Allen for \$2,500.00: Andrew Son, pianist, from Halifax, Nova Scotia

First Place – \$1,500 Prize	Second Place – \$1,000 Prize	Third Place – \$500 Prize
Voice: Olivia Barnes [QC]	Voice: McKenzie Warriner [SK]	Voice: Heather MacLeod [BC]
Piano: Andrew Son [NS]	Piano: Elijah Orlenko [ON]	Piano: Nicole Linaksita [BC]
Strings: David Liam Roberts [MB]	Strings: Sophie van der Sloot [BC]	Strings: Rena Far [AB]
Guitar: Abshir Miller [ON]	Guitar: Sebastian Robles [AB]	Guitar: Benjamin William Lamont [MB]
Woodwinds: Eunice Park [BC]	Woodwinds: Adriana Jankovic [AB]	Woodwinds: James Griffith [SK]
Brass: Robert Conquer [ON]	Brass: Abby Fuller [SK]	Brass: Jason Gordon [BC]
Percussion: Andrew Busch [ON]	Percussion: Jasmine Tsui [SK]	Percussion: Jocelyn Blanchette [NB]
Chamber: Fiearro String Quartet [SK] Eleanor Hector, Meika Sonntag, Mayson Sonntag, Jonathon Craig Penner	Chamber: Trio Liscio [BC] Annis Lee, Sabrina Jaun, Charmaine Yang	Chamber: Adventure Trio [AB] Andrea Pedro, Olivia Imbrogno, Cristian Kasinski
Musical Theatre: Simon Tottrup [AB]	Musical Theatre: Sarah Luby [MB]	Musical Theatre: Abigail Sinclair [NS]

For more information, please contact Barbara Long, FCMF Executive Director

info@fcmf.org | 866.245.1680